Pepper, Love, Holmes to be honored by GWAA


The Golf Writers Association of America will honor Dottie Pepper, Davis Love III and J.B. Holmes for their contributions to the game during the Annual Awards Dinner in April. 

Pepper, the CBS Sports on-course reporter who won 17 LPGA titles, received the William D. Richardson Award, given to the individual who has consistently made an outstanding contribution to golf. In addition to her TV duties, she also served on the PGA of America’s board of directors. 

Love, the U.S. Ryder Cup captain, was named the winner of the ASAP Sports/Jim Murray Award, given to the professional who demonstrates cooperation and accommodation to the media.

Holmes will receive the Ben Hogan Award, for staying active in golf despite a physical handicap. The four-time PGA Tour winner underwent two brain surgeries in 2011.

All three will be honored, along with the 2015 players of the year, during the awards banquet on April 6 in Augusta, Ga.