Royal St. George's to host 2020 Open


Royal St. George’s Golf Club will host The Open in 2020, the R&A announced in a conference call Monday morning.

It will mark the 15th time the championship will be played at the club in Sandwich in the southeast of England. It was last played there in 2011, when Darren Clarke won, holding off Phil Mickelson and Dustin Johnson by three shots.

The R&A is expected to announce that St. Andrews will host the 2021 Open, the 150th anniversary of the championship, though the R&A has yet to confirm that.

The R&A also announced that Jose Maria Olazabal and Bridget Jackson have accepted invitations to become honorary members of the Royal & Ancient Golf Club of St. Andrews. Olazabal won the 1994 and ’99 Masters. Jackson was a three-time Curtis Cup player for Great Britain and Ireland and has served as chair and president of the English Ladies Golf Association and president of the Ladies Golf Union.