You Oughta Know: 2015 OHL Classic at Mayakoba


PLAYA DEL CARMEN, Mexico – A Sunday shootout looms at the OHL Classic at Mayakoba, as soft conditions are expected to produce some low scores. Here’s what You Oughta Know heading into the final round in Mexico, where Derek Fathauer holds a one-shot lead:

- Fathauer holds a 54-hole lead for the first time, and this is actually the first time he has been inside the top 10 entering a final round on the PGA Tour.

- Fathauer lost his card last season, but earned it back last month at Tour Finals. His lone prior top-10 finish came at the 2015 Barracuda Championship, where he finished T-10.

- Fathauer is looking to extend a streak of first-time champions, as each of the first five winners this season have earned their maiden titles.

- Four of the eight prior editions of this event have been won by a player who held at least a share of the 54-hole lead, but none since Johnson Wagner won in 2011.

- Fathauer holds a one-shot lead over Jason Bohn, who is in search of his first win since the 2010 Zurich Classic. Bohn’s strong start this season includes a T-3 finish in Napa and a T-2 finish in Las Vegas.

- Bohn held the 54-hole lead at this event last year, but struggled to a final-round 74 and finished T-7.

- Russell Knox shares third place, three shots behind Fathauer. A winner for the first time last week in China, Knox is the only player to tee it up in each of the first five weeks of the new season.

- Graeme McDowell shares third as he looks to win for the first time since the 2013 RBC Heritage. Mired in a lengthy slump, McDowell hasn’t had a top-10 finish since the 2014 WGC-HSBC Champions.

- Justin Leonard also shares third place at 13 under. Leonard held a share of the first-round lead and is looking to win for the first time since the 2008 FedEx St. Jude Classic.

- Also at 13 under is Harold Varner III, who is a rookie this season on Tour. Varner was in contention through 54 holes of the Open before a final-round 79 dropped him back to T-48.

- Wagner sits alone in seventh after three straight rounds of 4-under 67. He last won at the 2012 Sony Open and lost to J.B. Holmes in a playoff this year at the Shell Houston Open that also included Jordan Spieth.