You Oughta Know: Bubba eyes third Travelers title


Before he heads down to Rio, Bubba Watson will defend his title at this week's Travelers Championship. Here's what You Oughta Know.

• Watson won the Travelers in 2010 and 2015. He owns the best scoring average (67.4) in the history of the event. Watson is a nine-time PGA Tour winner, but he has yet to defend a title. Since 2010, Watson’s cumulative score to par (68 under) is 14 strokes better than any other player.

• Watson won his first PGA Tour title at the Travelers in 2010. Since then there have been few players better than Bubba:

Most PGA Tour Wins Since Beginning of 2010

Rory McIlroy: 11

Jason Day: 10

Bubba Watson: 9

Dustin Johnson: 9

• In his last start, Jon Rahm tied for second at the Canadian Open. In six starts since turning pro, Rahm has recorded three top-10s.

• Don't be surprised if there is a close finish at the Travelers. In the last six years, this tournament has been decided either by one stroke or a playoff:

2015: Bubba Watson (Playoff)

2014: Kevin Streelman (One stroke)

2013: Ken Duke (Playoff)

2012: Marc Leishman (One stroke)

2011: Fredrik Jacobson (One stroke)

2010: Bubba Watson (Playoff)

• Watson's fellow U.S. teammates Matt Kuchar and Patrick Reed are also in the field ahead of the Olympics. This season, only Dustin Johnson has more top-10 finishes than Reed.

Dustin Johnson: 12

Patrick Reed: 9

Jason Day: 9

Matt Kuchar: 9

Rickie Fowler: 7

William McGirt: 7

(Stats provided by the Golf Channel research department)