×
Golf Channel Mobile
Golf Channel
Free
install

GFC Search

 

Kuchar moves on despite rules mix-up over ball mark

RSS

MARANA, Ariz. – What should have been a 5-and-4 walkover turned into a nervy 3-and-2 victory for Matt Kuchar on Wednesday at the WGC-Accenture Match Play Championship.

Kuchar was 4 up through 13 holes in his match against Bernd Wiesberger when he converted a 14-footer for birdie that should have ended the match. Both players had already shaken hands and were about to head back to the clubhouse when things unraveled.

“We thought we’d won,” said Lance Bennett, Kuchar’s caddie.


WGC-Accenture Match Play scoring

WGC-Accenture Match Play bracket

WGC-Accenture Match Play: Articles, videos and photos


That’s when Wiesberger’s caddie asked Bennett if Kuchar had replaced his ball mark after moving it so Wiesberger could putt first at the 14th hole. Bennett asked Kuchar and he knew immediately.

“It came to me and I said, ‘Son of a gun, I did not move the mark back,’” said Kuchar, who lost the hole under the Rules of Golf.

Kuchar missed a 7-footer for birdie at the 15th hole that would have ended the match but made his par at No. 16 to close out Wiesberger, 3 and 2.