Recap: Phil had the best Presidents Cup ever

RSS

Did you have a busy weekend? Couldn't stay up late to watch the Presidents Cup? Besides that whole "Bill Haas winning the final match to clinch the Presidents Cup for his dad (captain Jay Haas)" storyline, the big news was Phil Mickelson.

It's safe to say he had the best Presidents Cup ever.

Lefty started the week by holing this bunker shot on Thursday.


The next day, Mickelson's awesome week was almost ruined by a rules violation. He put a firmer ball in play for more distance in his fourball match, but there was a one-ball rule in place for fourball and singles matches, but not foursomes. The walking referee even disqualified Mickelson from the hole and later admitted that was a mistake. No matter, Mickelson holed out again, but this time from a fairway bunker on No. 12.

After the match, Mickelson owned up to his mistake and then delivered the best line of the week.

"We spotted the Internationals’ best team two holes, and they still couldn’t beat us. Just sayin’."


When Phil wasn't winning points and holing out from bunkers, he was spreading his chill vibe throughout the U.S. team room.


Lefty rested on Saturday morning, but he came out to the course and let his teammates rub his magical belly for good luck.


In his Sunday singles match against Charl Schwartzel, Mickelson got up-and-down from a plugged lie in the bunker ...


... and then chipped in again on No. 11 to cruise to a 5-and-4 win.


Lefty sealed his awesome week with a kiss from his lovely wife, Amy.