Automatic qualifiers punch tickets for Prez Cup


Updated: Sept. 8, 6 p.m.

NORTON, Mass. – The Presidents Cup rosters for the United States and International teams are set.

The top 10 qualifiers from each team were locked in at the conclusion of Monday’s play at the Deutsche Bank Championship.  The conclusion to automatic qualifying was a bit anticlimactic Monday, with no changes in the American or International standings from the previous week. 

U.S. captain Jay Haas and International captain Nick Price filled out their teams by announcing their two captain’s picks Tuesday. Haas selected Phil Mickelson and Bill Haas, while Price went with two winners on Tour this season: Sangmoon Bae and Steven Bowditch

Brooks Koepka, who made a hard run this year but missed his last two cuts and finished 20th on the points list, was left off the American team.

Jordan Spieth ended up as the leading American qualifier with Jim Furyk the most experienced qualifier, having made seven consecutive teams. Four Americans qualifiers will be making their first Presidents Cup appearances: Jimmy Walker, Rickie Fowler, Patrick Reed and Chris Kirk.

Player Prior appearances Record Position to start season
Jordan Spieth 2013 2-2-0 7
Bubba Watson 2011 3-2-0 2
Jimmy Walker 2013   1
Zach Johnson 2007, 2009, 2013 7-6-0 4
Jim Furyk 1998, 2000-03-05-07-09-11 20-10-13 3
Rickie Fowler     11
Dustin Johnson 2011 1-3-1 9
Patrick Reed     12
Matt Kuchar  2011, 2013  4-5-1 6
Chris Kirk     5

Jason Day finished as the leading International qualifier with Adam Scott the most experienced qualifier, having made six teams. Three International qualifiers will be making their first appearances: India’s Anirban Lahiri, Thailand’s Thongchai Jaidee and New Zealand’s Danny Lee.

The International Team qualifiers include three Australians, three South Africans and one player each from Japan, India, New Zealand and Thailand.  

Player Country Prior appearances Record Position to start season
Jason Day Australia 2011, 2013 4-4-2 2
Louis Oosthuizen South Africa 2013 1-3-1 5
Adam Scott     Australia 2003-05-07-09-11-13 12-15-3 1
Hideki Matsuyama Japan 2013 1-3-1 3
Branden Grace South Africa 2013 0-4-0 30
Marc Leishman Australia 2013 2-2-0 7
Anirban Lahiri India     20
Charl Schwartzel South Africa 2011. 2013 5-4-1 4
Thongchai Jaidee Thailand     6
Danny Lee New Zealand     84