Defending champs Day, Scott headline World Cup field


Defending champions Jason Day and Adam Scott were among several marquee players who were confirmed Monday as participants in the Nov. 24-27 World Cup of Golf.

Day and Scott teamed for victory at the last World Cup in 2013. They will once again comprise the Australian team later this year when the event heads to Kingston Heath Golf Club in Melbourne, Australia.

While the event's last iteration included both individual and team competitions, this year's tournament will only include a team competition.

"The victory at the 2013 World Cup of Golf was a kick-start to a phenomenal stretch of golf for me," Day said in a release. "I am truly looking forward to the new format with Adam. I really can't imagine a better scenario than to represent Australia in our home country, with one of my good mates at Kingston Heath, one of my all-time favorite courses."

Other notable commitments include Bubba Watson, who will anchor the American team, while Danny Willett will team with fellow Englishman Lee Westwood, who finished second to Willett this year at the Masters.

A total of 28 countries will be represented at the event, each fielding a two-man team. Players currently listed without a partner have until Aug. 26 to choose who they will team with in the event.

Here's a look at the players who have confirmed their participation:

Australia: Jason Day and Adam Scott

U.S.: Bubba Watson

England: Danny Willett and Lee Westwood

Scotland: Russell Knox and Duncan Stewart

Japan: Hideki Matsuyama

Spain: Rafael Cabrera-Bello

Korea: Byeong-Hun An

Argentina: Emiliano Grillo

Ireland: Shane Lowry

Sweden: Alex Noren and David Lingmerth

Thailand: Thongchai Jaidee

Denmark: Soren Kjeldsen and Thorbjorn Olesen

New Zealand: Danny Lee

Italy: Francesco Molinari

Austria: Bernd Wiesberger

Belgium: Thomas Pieters and Nicolas Colsaerts

Netherlands: Joost Luiten

South Africa: Jaco van Zyl

Venezuela: Jhonattan Vegas and Julio Vegas

Wales: Jamie Donaldson

France: Victor Dubuisson

Germany: Alex Cejka

Fiji: Vijay Singh

Portugal: Ricardo Gouveia

Canada: David Hearn

China: Wu Ashun

Paraguay: Fabrizio Zanotti

Philippines: Miguel Tabuena