Scott headlines initial 2016 Olympic Golf Rankings


World No. 1 Adam Scott is once again atop a set of golf rankings, as the Aussie tops the list of the initial Olympic Golf Rankings, published following the Open Championship.

Scott, who tied for fifth at Royal Liverpool, has been atop the Official World Golf Rankings for the last 10 weeks. He debuted in the Olympic rankings ahead of Rory McIlroy, who won his third major title by two shots Sunday over Rickie Fowler and Sergio Garcia.

The Olympic rankings dovetail off the OWGR and will run through July 11, 2016, when the 60 spots for the Games on the men's side will be finalized. Each of the top 15 players in the rankings will earn a spot, with the caveat that no country have more than four representatives from the top 15. In the initial standings, the U.S. is the only nation that would reach that maximum, with its four spots currently slated for Bubba Watson, Matt Kuchar, Tiger Woods and Jim Furyk.

After the top 15 players, the rankings will be used to fill out the remaining 44 spots - with each country having no more than two representatives - and the host country of Brazil receiving the 60th and final spot if not otherwise qualified.

Here's a look at who would be teeing it up in Rio based on the initial standings, with the Olympics now 746 days away:

1. Adam Scott (Australia)

2. Rory McIlroy (Ireland)

3. Henrik Stenson (Sweden)

4. Justin Rose (Great Britain)

5. Sergio Garcia (Spain)

6. Bubba Watson (USA)

7. Matt Kuchar (USA)

8. Jason Day (Australia)

9. Tiger Woods (USA)

10. Jim Furyk (USA)

11. Martin Kaymer (Germany)

12. Graeme McDowell (Ireland)

13. Hideki Matsuyama (Japan)

14. Victor Dubuisson (France)

15. Charl Schwartzel (South Africa)

16. Luke Donald (Great Britain)

17. Thomas Bjorn (Denmark)

18. Miguel Angel Jimenez (Spain)

19. Thongchai Jaidee (Thailand)

20. Graham DeLaet (Canada)

21. Francesco Molinari (Italy)

22. Jonas Blixt (Sweden)

23. Joost Luiten (Netherlands)

24. Mikko Ilonen (Finland)

25. Angel Cabrera (Argentina)

26. Louis Oosthuizen (South Africa)

27. Koumei Oda (Japan)

28. Matteo Manassero (Italy)

29. Bernd Wiesberger (Austria)

30. K.J. Choi (South Korea)

31. Brendon de Jonge (Zimbabwe)

32. Anirban Lahiri (India)

33. Hyung-Sung Kim (South Korea)

34. David Hearn (Canada)

35. Thorbjorn Olesen (Denmark)

36. Fabrizio Zanotti (Paraguay)

37. Alexander Levy (France)

38. Kiradech Aphibarnrat (Thailand)

39. Marcel Siem (Germany)

40. Felipe Aguilar (Chile)

41. Emiliano Grillo (Argentina)

42. Nicolas Colsaerts (Belgium)

43. Siddikur Rahman (Bangladesh)

44. Shiv Kapur (India)

45. Carlos Ortiz (Mexico)

46. Robert-Jan Derksen (Netherlands)

47. W.C. Liang (China)

48. Ashun Wu (China)

49. Vijay Singh (Fiji)

50. Camilo Villegas (Colombia)

51. Danny Lee (New Zealand)

52. Tim Wilkinson (New Zealand)

53. Chan Shih-chang (Chinese Taipei)

54. Antonio Lascuna (Philippines)

55. Adilson da Silva (Brazil)

56. Juvic Pagunsan (Philippines)

57. Jhonattan Vegas (Venezuela)

58. Roope Kakko (Finland)

59. Thomas Pieters (Belgium)

60. Ricardo Santos (Portugal)