Skip to main content

Spring college golf preview: Big 12 men

Matt Wolff at the 2018 NCAA Championship
Getty Images previews the 2019 spring season in men's college golf, from teams and players to watch to picks to win. Here we dive into the Big 12:

Big 12

Championship info: April 26-28, The Greenbrier Resort, White Sulphur Springs, W. Va.

Recent champions: Oklahoma (2018), Texas (2017), Texas (2016), Texas (2015), Texas (2014)

Team rankings: Oklahoma State (1), Oklahoma (10), Texas (14), Texas Tech (29), Baylor (33), West Virginia (37), Kansas (40), Iowa State (51), TCU (60), Kansas State (122)

Midseason All-Conference Team: Matthew Wolff, Soph., Oklahoma State (1); Viktor Hovland, Jr., Oklahoma State (3); Hayden Wood, Sr., Oklahoma State (19); Sandy Scott, Jr., Texas Tech (21); Riley Casey, Soph., Oklahoma (28)

What to watch: It was a bit surprising a year ago when Oklahoma State didn’t win the Big 12 title, yet the Cowboys, who haven’t hoisted a conference title since 2011, are still favorites heading into this spring’s championship. With senior Hayden Wood stepping up to join sophomore Matt Wolff and junior Viktor Hovland as top-20 players, the Cowboys are just as deep – if not deeper – than a year ago. Wolff won all three of his stroke-play tournaments in the fall and is the Haskins Award favorite entering the spring. … Oklahoma is still a top-10 program thanks to the emergence of junior Riley Casey and Garett Reband. If senior Brad Dalke can find his groove this spring, the Sooners can definitely repeat as Big 12 champs. … Life without Doug Ghim and Scottie Scheffler hasn’t been so bad for Texas, which has gotten strong play from senior Steven Chervony, ranked 31st, and freshmen Cole Hammer and Pierceson Coody. … Baylor has no players ranked in the top 250, but the Bears still won twice this fall, including the Big 12 Match Play. Junior Cooper Dossey, tied for the team lead in scoring average and top 25s, had wrist surgery this winter but should be ready for the spring. … Texas Tech lost its two best players from last season in Fred Nilehn and Hurly Long, but junior Sandy Scott has really stepped up to lead.

Pick to win: Oklahoma State