Skip to main content

Oklahoma St. rolls past 'Bama to win NCAA title

Getty Images

Oklahoma State defeated Alabama, 5-0, on Wednesday in front of a home crowd to win its 11th NCAA team championship and first since 2006.

With nine wins this season, the Cowboys were the clear No. 1 team, and they played like it throughout the NCAA Championship.

Sophomore Viktor Hovland and freshman Matthew Wolff built solid leads for the Cowboys in the opening two matches, but they didn’t secure the first point for the Cowboys.

That distinction went to junior Zach Bauchou … in the anchor match. Bauchou went nuts and fired a 29 on the front to go 7 up after nine holes and he closed out Jonathan Hardee on No. 11 to win 8 and 7.

"I played really well today, all aspects of my game," Bauchou said. "I struggled with my driving throughout the week. Today I was able to come out and was hitting nice fades off the tee. So I was able to put the ball in play."

NCAA Men’s DI Championship: Scoring

NCAA Men’s DI Championship: Full coverage

Hovland secured the second point with a 4-and-3 win over Lee Hodges.

That set the stage for Wolff. The 19-year-old All-American freshman has a funky swing and a lightning-quick tempo, but his ball-striking was superb, and when his birdie putt dropped on 14 to close out Davis Riley he set off a thunderous celebration that made Karsten Creek sound more like a Ryder Cup than an NCAA Championship.

"It's just everything I could dream of," Wolff said. "This school, the fans, the coaches, my teammates, they all just made me feel like I was at home. I couldn't be happier to be here, and I couldn't be happier to be a national champion."

Oklahoma State became the sixth team to win an NCAA title on its home course, and the Cowboys became the first team ranked No. 1 to win in the match-play era.

"It's just special," said Oklahoma St. coach Alan Bratton. "What a great environment for college golf and for Oklahoma St. I can't thank our people enough to allow the kids to get a thrill of a lifetime like this."

Match 1: Viktor Havland (OSU) def. Lee Hodges (Ala.), 4 and 3

Match 2: Matthew Wolff (OSU) def. Davis Riley (Ala.), 4 and 3

Match 3: Kristoffer Ventura (OSU) def. Wilson Furr (Ala.), 3 and 2

Match 4: Austin Eckroat (OSU) def. Davis Shore (Ala.), 1 up

Match 5: Zach Bauchou (OSU) def. Jonathan Hardee (Ala.), 8 and 7