Top 6 teams grab No. 1 seeds in men's regionals


The field is set for next week’s NCAA Division I men’s regionals.

The top six teams in the country, according to Golfstat’s rankings, represent the top seeds at the six 54-hole tournaments that will be held May 15-17 at various sites around the country. Alabama, Oklahoma State, Stanford, California, Georgia Tech and Georgia earned No. 1 seeds.

The low five teams and low individual on a non-qualifying team from each regional will advance to the 30-team NCAA Championship, which begins May 23 at Prairie Dunes in Hutchinson, Kan.

Here are the six regionals:

• Auburn (Ala.) University Club (listed in order of seed):

Teams: Alabama, Virginia Tech, Texas, Auburn, New Mexico, BYU, Kennesaw State, Colorado, Louisville, UNC-Greensboro, UC-Davis, Sam Houston State, St. John’s, Alabama State

Individuals: Blake Morris (Ole Miss); JD Tomlinson (Florida); Jared Bettcher (Troy); Marco Iten (Austin Peay); Theodore Lederhausen (Harvard)

• The Club at Old Hawthorne, in Columbia, Mo.:

Teams: Oklahoma State, Virginia, LSU, Arkansas, Arizona State, Iowa, San Diego State, Missouri, Iowa State, Middle Tennessee State, Ohio State, Denver, Loyola (Md.), Bryant

Individuals: Pep Angles (Central Arkansas); Matt Mabrey (Tulsa); Logan McCracken (Tulsa); Daniel Wood (Kansas State); Alex Taylor (Fairfield)

• Lonnie Poole Golf Club, in Raleigh, N.C.:

Teams: Georgia Tech, Washington, Florida State, Texas A&M, Mercer, Kentucky, Texas Tech, Wake Forest, South Alabama, Memphis, Minnesota, Rice, Bethune-Cookman

Individuals: J.T. Poston (West Carolina); Evan Russell (Hartford); Franco Castro (UNC-Charlotte); Brandon Matthews (Temple); Richard Fountain (Davidson); Eric Brady (East Carolina); Andrew Dorn (Coastal Carolina); Ben Wheeler (CoastalCarolina); Sean Bosdosh (Maryland); Zach Seabolt (Winthrop)

Rich Harvest Farms, in Sugar Grove, Ill.:

Teams: Cal, Illinois, USC, UAB, UNLV, Clemson, Kent State, Purdue, Mississippi State, Cal State-Fullerton, New Mexico State, Jasonville State, Cleveland State, Saint Peter’s College

Individuals: Niall Platt (Notre Dame); Chris O’Neill (Michigan); Danny Pizetoski (Richmond); Juan Veloza (Towson); Rob van de Vin (IUPUI)

• Eugene (Ore.) Country Club:

Teams: Stanford, Houston, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Baylor, Liberty, Oregon, Tennessee, North Florida, East Tennessee State, Chattanooga, Wichita State,Northern Colorado

Individuals: Cody Blick (San Jose State); Kyle Westmoreland (Air Force); David Fink (Oregon State); Owen Taylor (Sacramento State); Byron Meth (Pacific); Tyler Torano (Loyola); Cory McElyea (San Francisco); Pete Fernandez (Cal-Irvine); Alex Franklin (Oregon State); Frederick Wedel (Pepperdine)

• Briggs Ranch Golf Club, in San Antonio:

Teams: Georgia, UCF, UCLA, Vanderbilt, South Florida, SMU, Georgia Southern, Georgia State, TCU, Northwestern, College of Charleston, VCU, Columbia

Individuals: Eric Oja (Arizona); Grant Forrest (San Diego); Grady Brame (Southeastern Louisiana); Victor Lange (Louisiana Tech); Alex McMahon (Arizona); Preston Stanley (Houston Baptist); Martin Simonsen (Texas-El Paso); Stuart Smallwood (Texas State); Peter Kim (U.S. Military); Peter Ballo (Sacred Heart)