Things quickly became more complicated, however, when he missed the green at No. 2 and reached for his 60-degree lob wedge. That’s when he noticed the shaft near the butt of the grip had been dented.
The damage occurred a day earlier when de Jonge had to play a chip shot on his final hole on Thursday with the same wedge from a difficult lie. De jonge thought was plugged, but he was not allowed relief by a PGA Tour official.
Frustrated, de Jonge swung the handle of the wedge into his golf bag, but didn’t realize he had damaged the club.
Because he doesn’t warm up with that club prior to a round, it wasn’t until the second hole on Friday that he noticed the damage and informed a rules official.
Since de Jonge didn’t use the club on Friday, he wasn’t disqualified; he was, however, penalized four strokes (two strokes for each hole he had it in the bag, with a maximum of four strokes).
“My head really wasn’t in it after that,” said de Jonge, who shot a second-round 77 for a 6 over total to miss the cut. “It was my fault, I should have checked it.”