Lingmerth, Pieters boost Rio chances with close calls


David Lingmerth and Thomas Pieters each came up short in their respective quests for victory Sunday, but both can take solace in the fact that their runner-up finishes significantly boosted their chances to qualify for the Rio Olympics.

Lingmerth lost in a sudden-death playoff to Jason Dufner at the CareerBuilder Challenge, his third career playoff loss on the PGA Tour. He entered the week with a 14-spot cushion in the OWGR over Kristoffer Broberg for the second and final qualifying spot for Sweden behind Henrik Stenson, but after Sunday's result he jumped to No. 36 in the world and now leads Broberg by 31 spots.

Pieters, meanwhile, appears to be a lock to represent Belgium in Brazil. The 23-year-old moved up 30 spots to No. 58 in the world after finishing second behind Rickie Fowler at the Abu Dhabi HSBC Golf Championship. He is now 181 spots ahead of Nicolas Colsaerts, the next-highest Belgian in the OWGR.

Other moves this week included Fowler, whose win vaulted him over Bubba Watson for the second U.S. qualifying spot behind Jordan Spieth. Germany's Marcel Siem finished T-5 in Abu Dhabi, and at No. 133 in the world he is now ahead of Alex Cejka for his country's second qualifying spot behind Martin Kaymer.

The qualification window for the Olympics will close following the Open Championship in July. Here is a look at the 60 men who are currently positioned to make it to Rio:

1. Jordan Spieth (USA)

2. Jason Day (AUS)

3. Rory McIlroy (IRL)

4. Rickie Fowler (USA)

5. Bubba Watson (USA)

6. Henrik Stenson (SWE)

7. Justin Rose (GBR)

8. Dustin Johnson (USA)

9. Branden Grace (RSA)

10. Sergio Garcia (ESP)

11. Adam Scott (AUS)

12. Hideki Matsuyama (JPN)

13. Louis Oosthuizen (RSA)

14. Danny Willett (GBR)

15. Shane Lowry (IRL)

16. Byeong-Hun An (KOR)

17. Thongchai Jaidee (THA)

18. Martin Kaymer (GER)

19. Emiliano Grillo (ARG)

20. Bernd Wiesberger (AUT)

21. Victor Dubuisson (FRA)

22. David Lingmerth (SWE)

23. Kiradech Aphibarnrat (THA)

24. Anirban Lahiri (IND)

25. Danny Lee (NZL)

26. Soren Kjeldsen (DEN)

27. Fabian Gomez (ARG)

28. Thomas Pieters (BEL)

29. Shingo Katayama (JPN)

30. K.T. Kim (KOR)

31. Francesco Molinari (ITA)

32. Joost Luiten (NED)

33. Thorbjorn Olesen (DEN)

34. Ricardo Gouveia (POR)

35. Miguel Angel Jimenez (ESP)

36. Alexander Levy (FRA)

37. Fabrizio Zanotti (PAR)

38. David Hearn (CAN)

39. Marcel Siem (GER)

40. Graham DeLaet (CAN)

41. Ryan Fox (NZL)

42. Brendon de Jonge (ZIM)

43. Wu Ashun (CHN)

44. Mikko Ilonen (FIN)

45. Li Haotong (CHN)

46. Camilo Villegas (COL)

47. Miguel Tabuena (PHI)

48. S.S.P. Chawrasia (IND)

49. Angelo Que (PHI)

50. Nicolas Colsaerts (BEL)

51. Roope Kakko (FIN)

52. Vijay Singh (FIJ)

53. Danny Chia (MAS)

54. Carlos Ortiz (MEX)

55. C.T. Pan (TPE)

56. Lin Wen-Tang (TPE)

57. Jhonattan Vegas (VEN)

58. Siddikur Rahman (BAN)

59. Felipe Aguilar (CHI)

60. Adilson da Silva (BRA)