×
Golf Channel Mobile
Golf Channel
Free
install
Bass Pro Shops Legends of Golf at Big Cedar Lodge View Leaderboard >
  • 1
  • Andrade\Durant
  • -19
  • F
  • 2
  • L.Woosnam
  • -16
  • F
  • T3
  • Calcavecchia\Lowery
  • -15
  • F
  • T3
  • Roberts\Wiebe
  • -15
  • F
  • T5
  • Chapman\Cochran
  • -14
  • F
  • T5
  • Gilder\Wadkins
  • -14
  • F
  • T5
  • Lehman\Sluman
  • -14
  • F
  • T5
  • Pavin\Waldorf
  • -14
  • F
  • T5
  • Sindelar/Cook
  • -14
  • F
  • T10
  • Armour III\Parnevik
  • -13
  • F
Prev Next

GFC Search

 

Noh penalized for playing approach off wrong green

RSS

PARAMUS, N.J. – Oh, Noh.

The latest installment of Pros Making Rules Snafus centered around Seung-yul Noh and a misguided attempt to play an approach shot on Friday.

After hitting a tee shot on the 11th hole – his second of the day – way right, Noh found it resting on the third green. From there, he is supposed to take free relief under Rule 25-3/b, which states:

If a player’s ball lies on a wrong putting green, he must not play the ball as it lies. He must take relief, without penalty.

Rather than take relief, though, Noh took a mighty lash at the ball from the putting surface, producing a large divot in the process.

He also produced a two-stroke penalty for himself. That led to a triple-bogey on the hole, but five birdies helped him post a score of 1-over 72 and still make the cut.