Lexi Thompson was assessed a 4-shot penalty during the final round of the ANA Inspiration for marking a ball incorrectly and signing an incorrect scorecard on Day 3 of the event after a viewer made the rules officials aware of the incident via email.
Here is video of the infraction, which cost Thompson the lead and eventually the win:
The golf community was none too pleased with the ruling, and sounded off on Twitter moments after it happened, starting with Tiger Woods.
Viewers at home should not be officials wearing stripes. Let's go @Lexi, win this thing anyway.— Tiger Woods (@TigerWoods) April 3, 2017
.@Lexi couldn't believe it when informed by LPGA official: "is this a joke?" Lexi asked.— Randall Mell (@RandallMellGC) April 2, 2017
How do people even know what number it is to call in? I barely even know my own number! https://t.co/RzdAZ0RWIt— Peter Uihlein (@PeterUihlein) April 3, 2017
Hope she wins & throws the trophy in Poppy's Pond— edward loar (@BigEinBigD) April 3, 2017
So does that mean if a viewer calls in a ruling on the winner after the tournament is over, is the trophy taken away....? Wtf— Alison Lee (@alisonlee) April 3, 2017
Who the F#*k is sitting at home zooming in on that stuff??— Shane Lowry (@ShaneLowryGolf) April 3, 2017
@Lexi is it April Fools Day one day late? Great birdie after that news! Don't think viewers should be able to call in the next day.— Beth Daniel (@bethdanielBMFD) April 3, 2017
What is even happening now???— Christina Kim (@TheChristinaKim) April 3, 2017
*2017 NBA Finals*— Justin Ray (@JustinRayGC) April 3, 2017
Hey Steph, video review shows your toe grazed line on a free throw in OT last night. The Cavs have been awarded Game 3.
Governing bodies wanted feedback on proposed rules changes. Their inbox will be full by morning.— Ryan Lavner (@RyanLavnerGC) April 3, 2017
heartbreaking to watch @lexi. JUST NOT FAIR. i feel like i have the emotions of my toddler towards this!— brittany horschel (@britt_horschel) April 3, 2017
This whole thing just sucks.— Will Gray (@WillGrayGC) April 3, 2017
Another rough day for the deep dark complex rules of golf. Simplification cannot come quick enough.— Graeme McDowell (@Graeme_McDowell) April 3, 2017
This is our livelihood and a caller who had to have slo-mo and replayed the clip caught this tiny infraction. Get a life! No more call ins!— Alena Sharp (@AlenaSharp) April 3, 2017
Unbelievable... really need to CHANGE and do something about people being able to call in!— Lydia Ko (@LydiaKo) April 3, 2017
Pretty simple to have a rule that says people can't call in and change the outcome of an event don't you think? https://t.co/tMSpNfv0jp— Graham DeLaet (@GrahamDeLaet) April 3, 2017