Skip to main content

John Deere Classic canceled; PGA Tour plans to schedule replacement event

Getty Images


Updated May 29, 2:15 p.m. ET

The PGA Tour's revamped summer schedule won't include the John Deere Classic.

Tournament officials announced Thursday that the event, slated for July 9-12 at TPC Deere Run in Silvis, Illinois, will not be played this year.

"Because of the ongoing health and safety concerns related to the coronavirus pandemic, the difficult decision was made to cancel the 2020 John Deere Classic," tournament director Clair Peterson said in a statement. "While we considered several alternatives to the Classic, this was the choice that made the most sense for our guests, the players and the Quad City community at large."

The tournament was expected to be the fifth Tour event following a three-month hiatus stemming from the COVID-19 pandemic and was penciled in as the first that could have potentially included fans. Instead, the event won't be played at all because of ongoing restrictions in the state of Illinois banning gatherings of more than 50 people, limitations that are expected to remain in place by tournament week.

But the spot on the schedule won't remain empty for long. The Tour added a statement announcing its plans to fill the vacated spot on the schedule with a new event, with details expected "in the near future on venue and location." The Deere will return to the schedule in 2021, meaning that any replacement event would be for this year only.

Sources told on Friday that the replacement event may be held in Columbus, Ohio, the week before the Tour plays the Memorial at Muirfield Village.

Tour may stage Deere replacement in Columbus

As it searches for a replacement to the John Deere Classic, the PGA Tour is considering holding back-to-back events in Columbus, Ohio.

Other potential options include Firestone CC in Akron, Ohio, Keene Trace Golf Club in Nicholasville, Kentucky, which was previously scheduled to host the Barbasol Championship, and TPC Sawgrass in Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida, the last of which was mentioned in an ESPN report Thursday.

The John Deere Classic has been an annual Tour staple since its inception in 1972, with a list of past champions that includes Payne Stewart, David Toms, Vijay Singh, Steve Stricker, Zach Johnson and Jordan Spieth. Last year Dylan Frittelli earned his first Tour title at Deere Run over Russell Henley.