McIlroy third in AP Male Athlete of the Year voting


Rory McIlroy tied for third in the Associated Press Male Athlete of the Year voting, it was announced Tuesday.   

San Francisco Giants pitcher Madison Bumgarner earned 38 votes to finish first in a vote by the U.S. editors and news directors. Los Angeles Dodgers pitcher Clayton Kershaw finished second, with 13 votes.

After a two-major season, McIlroy tied with former New York Yankees shortstop Jeter at seven votes apiece. No male golfer has won the award since Tiger Woods in 2006. He is a four-time recipient (1997, ’99, ’00, ’06).  

Bumgarner earned two wins and a save during the Giants’ dramatic World Series victory over the Kansas City Royals. In the postseason, he compiled a 4-1 record with a 1.03 ERA in 52 2/3 innings. 

Kershaw won the National League MVP and Cy Young awards, while Jeter retired this fall following a 20-year career with the Yankees. 

The rest of the list:

Peyton Manning (5 votes)

Tim Howard (4)

Lionel Messi (4)

Tim Duncan (3)

Aaron Rodgers (3)

Novak Djokovic (2)

Richard Sherman (2)

Tom Brady (2)

Thomas Mueller (1)

Sidney Crosby (1)

Marcus Mariota (1)

LeBron James (1)