Gay assessed penalty stroke after stepping on ball
- By Jason Sobel
- Jun 23, 2012 5:35 PM ET
CROMWELL, Conn. – There are 18 competitors at the Travelers Championship who can thank Brian Gay’s foot for at least one more round of golf this weekend.
Searching for his embedded ball after his second shot into the par-4 17th hole in Saturday morning’s completion of the second round, Gay stepped on the ball and didn’t think it had moved – but wasn’t 100 percent sure.
Once his round was complete, Gay met with PGA Tour vice president of rules and competition Mark Russell for approximately an hour, during which they discussed whether the ball had moved and whether the player should be given a one-stroke penalty. Because Gay was not 100 percent sure that it hadn’t moved, the penalty stroke was enforced.
That allowed 18 more players to make the cut, upping the total number to 88 – just two shy of the season-high that was set at the Shell Houston Open.
Because of the high number, there will be a secondary cut following the completion of Saturday afternoon’s third round as well.
Already well in front in the team competition, the USC Trojans are now on the verge of both team and individual NCAA titles entering the final round of competition at the University of Georgia Golf Co... Read More
- LIVE STREAM: Crowne Plaza Invitational, Round 2
- SCORING: BMW PGA | Colonial | Senior PGA | LPGA
- Euro chief: Sergio has several 'colored' friends
- Garcia calls O'Grady's remarks 'unfortunate'
- Zoeller: Garcia controversy will 'blow over'
- Sergio's 'chicken' jab | Apology | Tiger: Hurtful
- Rory, G-Mac MC at BMW | No 3-peat for Donald
- Scott joins legal coalition against anchor ban
- Colonial member Palmer fires 62 | At a glance
- Grill Room: Trevino regrets 'Happy Gilmore' role
- USGA, R&A ban anchored stroke | Explanation
- Haas, Waldorf co-lead Senior PGA Championship
- Tip of the Week: Stop scooping your chip shots