More Solheim Cup drama over conceded putt


PARKER, Colo. – Another day, another ruling snafu at the Solheim Cup.

This time it involved a fourball match that pitted Paula Creamer and Lexi Thompson against Jodi Ewart-Shadof and Charley Hull. Ultimately it was a moot point, but at the precise moment, tempers flared.

Creamer stood over a shortish par attempt on the seventh hole and was told it was conceded as she was about to put a stroke on the ball. European vice captain Annika Sorenstam told one of the caddies that the putt should be given to Creamer because Thompson faced a similar line for her birdie look. Creamer was not pleased.

Aside from conceding the putt at the last moment, it needed to be determined if Sorenstam was deemed to have given advice, which is against the rules for vice captains at the Solheim Cup.

“Was Annika giving advice,” Mallon asked. “(Rules officials who spoke with the USGA) said it was not considered that but they’re going to speak to the assistant captains, because they want to make sure they do not intervene in any of the situations like this going forward.”

Eventually Thompson made her birdie putt to halve the hole with Hull. Ewart-Shadoff and Hull won the match 2 up.

“Things happen out there,” Creamer said. “It’s an unfortunate thing. I think you should kind of know the rules of match play for sure when you’re out there, but at the same time, Jodi and Charley apologized for what happened.”