Skip to main content

Four events added to Open Qualifying Series

Getty Images

Four events have been added to the 2019 Open Qualifying Series, as players try to earn their way into the final major of the year at Royal Portrush.

The Australian Open, set to be held in two weeks in Sydney, is the first opportunity for players to secure their spot in The Open. The top three players in the top 10 not already exempt will earn a berth at Royal Portrush.

In all, the series will encompass 16 events across seven tours in 11 countries, offering a total of 46 spots.

On the PGA Tour, the Arnold Palmer Invitational (March 7-10), RBC Canadian Open (June 6-9) and Rocket Mortgage Classic (June 27-30) all have been added to the Qualifying Series. The other new event is the Andalucia Valderrama Masters, which replaces the French Open on the European Tour schedule and will be held June 27-30.

The Open is returning to Northern Ireland for the first time in almost 70 years. With significant changes to the world golf schedule beginning in 2019 – The Players returning to March, the PGA sliding up to May – The Open Championship will be played as the final major of the year, July 18-21.

Here is the list of all the Open Qualifying Series events:

Nov. 15-18: Australian Open (3 spots)

Dec. 6-9: South African Open (3)

Jan. 17-20: Singapore Open (4)

March 7-10: Arnold Palmer Invitational (3)

May 30-June 2: Mizuno Open (4)

June 6-9: RBC Canadian Open (3)

TBD: Korea Open (2)

June 27-30: Andalucia Valderrama Masters (3)

June 27-30: Rocket Mortgage Classic (2)

July 2: Final Qualifying at Fairmont St. Andrews (12)

July 4-7: Irish Open (3)

July 11-14: Scottish Open (3)

July 11-14: John Deere Classic (1)