Skip to main content

History of slow-play penalties in majors

Tianlang Guan at the 2013 Masters
Getty Images

Tianlang Guan’s slow-play penalty Friday at the Masters may have been the most painful to watch, but it wasn’t unprecedented on a major stage.

In fact, it was the fourth such penalty in the last 16 years. Most recently, Gregory Bourdy was docked a one-stroke slow-play penalty during the final round of the 2010 PGA Championship. Before that, Steve Lowery (2004 PGA, Round 1) and Edward Fryatt (1997 U.S. Open, Round 2) were each penalized for keeping a less-than-acceptable pace. 

Guan assessed slow-play penalty in Round 2

Video: Guan's one-stroke penalty

No player has been penalized for slow play in a PGA Tour event in 18 years, since Glen Day at the 1995 Honda Classic. (Guan was born three years later.) Dillard Pruitt also was docked a stroke at the 1992 Byron Nelson Championship. 

Guan’s penalty Friday was the fourth slow-play penalty in the past two years, following Charl Coetzee (2013 Tshwane Open), Ross Fisher (2012 Wales Open) and Morgan Pressel (2012 Match Play). Interestingly, John Paramor, the veteran rules official who was at the center of the Guan controversy Friday, also was the man who doled out Fisher’s penalty.