College Preview: Top 10 men's players to watch


Georgia Tech's Ollie Schniederjans is the top-ranked amateur in the country.

Brian Campbell, senior, Illinois: The Big Ten Player of the Year won twice last season and broke the school record for lowest scoring average (71.08).

Wyndham Clark, redshirt sophomore, Oklahoma State: The first-team All-American and Big 12 Player of the Year had a run of seven consecutive top-6 finishes in 2013-14. 

Bryson Dechambeau, junior, SMU: Hit his stride late last spring, winning the conference title and posting top 10s at regionals and NCAAs.

Jonathan Garrick, junior, UCLA: Good bet to build on his one-win career, after a strong summer included a T-2 at the Canadian Am.

Beau Hossler, sophomore, Texas: Five top 10s in his first season with the Longhorns and now seems poised for a huge year after the Western Amateur title. 

Stewart Jolly, senior, LSU: Made substantial strides each of his first three seasons in Baton Rouge, but will look to shine in the year’s biggest events. 

College Central: Complete preview of 2014-15 season

Rankings: Top 10 men's teams

Top 10 men's players to watch

Rankings: Top 5 women's teams

Denny McCarthy, senior, Virginia: The U.S. Amateur semifinalist has top-10 finishes in 47 percent of his career starts (17 of 36), and in his final season he has the potential to be a three- or four-time winner. 

Lee McCoy, junior, Georgia: The undisputed leader of the Bulldogs has already built on his 2013 success (five top 10s) with a runner-up in the fall opener.

Ollie Schniederjans, senior, Georgia Tech: The world’s No. 1-ranked amateur returned for his senior season to win prolifically and learn what it’s like to play under the microscope.   

Robby Shelton, sophomore, Alabama: Won twice and had five other top 5s during the Tide’s championship season, but now he feels the weight of carrying a mostly young, unproven team.

ALSO KEEP AN EYE ON: Julien Brun, TCU; Charlie Danielson, Illinois; Doug Ghim, Texas; Rico Hoey, USC; Kyle Jones, Baylor; Chase Koepka, South Florida; Jack Maguire, Florida State; Gavin Moynihan, Alabama; Jordan Niebrugge, Oklahoma State; Cheng-Tsung Pan, Washington; Jon Rahm, Arizona State; Roman Robledo, Houston; Scottie Scheffler, Texas; Hunter Stewart, Vanderbilt

Note: Players listed in alphabetical order