Skip to main content

Lewis looks to lead American resurgence on LPGA

Stacy Lewis
Getty Images

Stacy Lewis’ victory at the Mobile Bay LPGA Classic Sunday made her the third American LPGA member to win this year.

It’s the best American start to a season since 2007, when Americans won five of the year’s first six events.

The American start is notable given only two LPGA members won all of last year, the fewest to win in a single year since the LPGA was formed in 1950. asked Lewis whether the pride of American women’s golf is challenged in the face of foreign domination of the tour:

“All the time,” Lewis said. “We hear about it all the time. This being a U.S.-based tour, we need Americans playing well to get events back here in the United States. It’s really important. I know, for me, losing the Solheim Cup was really motivating to get out and get better and to be ready for this year.

“I want to be atop the American Solheim Cup points list. I want to be the No. 1 American, and I’m putting the work in to get there.”

There has been a steady decline in American victories since 2007. Here’s a list of LPGA titles American have won since then:

2012 – 3 (Lewis, Jessica Korda, Angela Stanford)

2011 – 4 (Lewis, Brittany Lincicome (2) and Lexi Thompson, a non-member when she won)

2010 – 4 (Kerr (2), Paula Creamer, Michelle Wie)

2009 – 5 (Kerr, Stanford, Lincicome, Wie, Pat Hurst)

2008 – 8 (Creamer (4), Stanford (2), Kerr, Morgan Pressel)

2007 – 10 (Creamer (2), Kerr, Pressel, Lincicome, Stacy Prammanasudh, Meaghan Francella, Natalie Gulbis, Sherri Steinhauer, Nicole Castrale)