Ryu receives LPGA top rookie award


NAPLES, Fla. – Stacy Lewis wasn’t the only LPGA pro taking home a trophy at the Rolex Awards Celebration Friday at the Ritz Carlton.

Lewis, who won the tour’s Player of the Year award, was among five LPGA members honored.

Here are the other awards and winners:

Rolex Rookie of the Year – So Yeon Ryu.

Heather Farr Perseverance Award – Sophie Gustafson won for her courage in a lifelong battle with a speech impediment.

William and Mousie Powell Award – Ai Miyazato won for best exemplifying the spirit, ideals and values the LPGA stands for.

Patty Berg Award – Nancy Lopez won for her role as an ambassador of the women’s game.