Field set for 2012 PGA Tour opener in Hawaii


The PGA Tour season begins next week with 28 winners from 2011 teeing it up at Kapalua in the Hyundai Tournament of Champions. The Tour announced the final field after the Friday deadline to commit.

Six of the seven multiple-event winners from last year will be in Hawaii: Steve Stricker, Nick Watney, Bubba Watson, Mark Wilson, PGA champion Keegan Bradley, and money list runner-up Webb Simpson.

FedExCup champion Bill Haas will be part of the field in the no-cut event, which starts on a Friday and finishes on a Monday.

Including Bradley, a handful of the half-dozen rookie winners will also play at the Plantation Course, including Jhonattan Vegas, Chris Kirk, Brendan Steele and Scott Stallings.

Several big names did not commit to play, however.

Three major winners are absent - Masters winner Charl Schwartzel, U.S. Open champion Rory McIlroy and British Open champion Darren Clarke.

Martin Kaymer also declined an invitation to play based on winning the WGC-HSBC Champions. World No. 1 Luke Donald, whose wife gave birth to their second child in November, will not play in the season-opener.  And Houston winner Phil Mickelson continues to skip an event he hasn’t played in since 2001.

All four rounds will be broadcast on Golf Channel.