Skip to main content

Bombs of the week: Tampa Bay Championship

Golf Talk Central
Getty Images

Each week, will take a detailed look at the players who pounded the farthest and fastest tee shots on the PGA Tour. Here are the four most important distance-related stats from the Tampa Bay Championship, won by Kevin Streelman:

Longest drive: Gary Woodland, 411 yards 

One of the most powerful players on Tour, Woodland showed off his explosive talent with this bomb on the 445-yard 10th hole at Innisbrook in the first round. That’s a pretty big poke, especially considering last week’s leader – and the top overall this year – Phil Mickelson hit a 450-yard drive at Doral that needed help from the cart path. The big blast didn’t help Woodland make the cut, however, as he shot 71-74 to skip the weekend. 

Last four leaders: WGC-Cadillac Championship: Mickelson, 450 yards; Honda Classic: Nicolas Colsaerts, 367; Northern Trust: Bill Haas, 366; Pebble Beach: Sean O’Hair, 355

Carry distance: Angel Cabrera, 299 yards 

Innisbrook’s Copperhead Course is far from a bombers’ paradise, and El Pato struggled with his game there en route to a T-63 finish. That said, this was Cabrera’s second time landing in this category, and he produced at similar carry distance (298 yards) at Riviera.

Last four leaders: Doral: Bubba Watson, 309.1 yards; Honda: Graham DeLaet, 324.2; Northern Trust: Angel Cabrera, 298; Pebble Beach: Robert Garrigus, 292.4

Clubhead speed: Graham DeLaet, 123.14 mph

A familiar name in this weekly staple, DeLaet topped out at 123.14 mph, the best of the week. The Canadian finished T-17 at Innisbrook. His clubhead speed was about the norm for this category, though Charlie Beljan’s 128.41 mph swing at Riviera will be difficult to top. 

Last four leaders: Doral: Sergio Garcia, 122.55 mph; Honda: Gary Woodland, 123.16; Northern Trust: Charlie Beljan, 128.41; Pebble Beach: Jason Day, 121.45

Ball speed: Graham DeLaet, 180.71 mph

No surprise, DeLaet’s high clubhead speed also translated to the fastest ball speed. It is the second time that he has landed in this category, after topping the field at the Honda (where he finished T-9).

Last four leaders: Doral: Bubba Watson, 181.32 mph; Honda: Graham DeLaet, 180.69; Northern Trust: Charlie Beljan, 182.58; Pebble Beach: Robert Garrigus, 178.51