Skip to main content

Never too early: One year until the Ryder Cup at Whistling Straits

Getty Images

We're still more than two months from the Presidents Cup, but Wednesday, Sept. 25 marked one year until the 43rd Ryder Cup.

Since it's never too early, here's a quick look ahead to next year's matches.

  • Dates: Sept. 25-27, 2020
  • Venue: Whistling Straits (Straits Course)
  • Location: Kohler, Wisconsin
  • Overall record since 1979: Europe leads 11-8-1

United States

Captain: Steve Stricker

Assistants: TBA

Qualifying: The qualifying window for the U.S. team extends through the PGA Tour's 2020 BMW Championship. Events that count toward qualifying include 2019 major championships, 2019 World Golf Championships, the 2019 Players Championship and 2020 PGA Tour events (excluding opposite fields), beginning with the Sentry Tournament of Champions. The top eight players on the U.S. points list at the end of the BMW Championship will make the team. Click here for the current U.S. Ryder Cup points list.

Captain's picks: Four additional selections will be announced on Tuesday, Sept. 1, 2020, following the Tour Championship.


Captain: Padraig Harrington

Assistants: Robert Karlsson, TBA

Qualifying: The qualifying window for the European team extends through the European Tour's 2020 BMW PGA Championship. Nine players will automatically qualify for the team, four from the Race to Dubai points list and five from the world points list. World points cannot be earned in any tournaments played during the week of a Rolex Series event. Click here for the current European Ryder Cup points lists.

Captain's picks: Three additional picks will be announced the week after the BMW PGA. 

Facts and figures

  • Europe is currently in possession of the cup, having routed the American side, 17 1/2 to 10 1/2, in 2018 at Le Golf National in France.
  • Europe has won four of the last five editions, seven of the last nine dating back to 2002, and nine of the last 12 dating back to 1995.
  • The last three U.S. victories — in 1999 at Brookline, in 2008 at Valhalla, and in 2016 at Hazeltine — have all come on American soil.
  • The U.S. has not won on European soil since 1993, but Europeans have won the cup in the U.S. three times since — in 1995 at Oak Hill, in 2004 at Oakland Hills, and in 2012 at Medinah.